What Does Labor Day Mean to You?

Today we Americans celebrate Labor Day. To recognize the holiday I want to ask, what does Labor Day mean to you? Do you value the day’s significance or just relish the day off from work and/or school?  For anyone unfamiliar with the idea behind Labor Day, here you go (courtesy of the Department of Labor website).

“Labor Day, the first Monday in September, is a creation of the labor movement and is dedicated to the social and economic achievements of American workers. It constitutes a yearly national tribute to the contributions workers have made to the strength, prosperity, and well-being of our country.”

Honestly, I didn’t know the meaning behind Labor Day until I started researching for this blog post. As a kid I saw Labor Day as a chance to share this brilliantly lame joke, “What’s Labor Day? The day pregnant women are suppose to go into labor?” Har, har. 😉

Nowadays, through word association I correlate Labor Day with cerebral palsy. You see, the word “labor” makes me think “cerebral palsy” because CP creates a need to work harder than the average person. If you read my book Off Balanced (available on the Kindle and Nook), you know as an adolescent I tried to hide my disability and blend in with my peers. I needed weekly physical therapy to stay at my physical best and attempt this. However, even then I remained no match for my peers.

A decade later I’m no longer trying to compete with those around me but I still must exercise regularly so I can remain my best and make the most from every day. The exercising doesn’t feel like extra labor because I’m use to that being my life. Yet Labor Day reminds me I do need to do a little extra to reach my potential. By appreciating what I usually take for granted as ordinary life I remember to not always burden myself with worries, like I tend to do at times.

Does Labor Day hold a unique significance to you? Share by commenting below.

2 comments on “What Does Labor Day Mean to You?

  1. This is really interesting – cerebral palsy certainly does make you work harder to achieve the same ends. If you’re interested in getting involved with the CP community, check out Cerebral Palsy Family Network. It’s a great resource for thousands of family affected by CP.

Leave a Reply

