Remembering 9/11

11 years ago today tragedy struck the United States when hijackers turned commercial airliners into weapons attacking the World Trade Center and Pentagon. Hijackers on a fourth plane, Flight 93, looked to hit Washington D.C. The flight ended up crashing in a Pennsylvania field after passengers heroically sacrificed their lives to thwart off the attack.

Like anyone old enough to remember, I can easily recall where I was September 11, 2001 when the horrible events unfolded. I was a high school freshman. Still recovering from the back surgery I talk about in Off Balanced, my school day didn’t start until second period. Watching Fox 8 News’ Morning Show, as I did every morning before school, I saw “Breaking News” flash across the television screen and video showing the World Trade Center attacks aired.

Once at school I found classes lost focus while concern and confusion spread. Throughout the morning lessons halted as teachers searched for available TVs in order to gain access to the news. When word about the Pentagon crash and Flight 93 emerged people wondered, “What’s next?” Rumors created factual chaos. I remember overhearing a peer ask a lunch monitor, “Is it true they hit the Eiffel Tower?” I actually share the story in Off Balanced to illustrate how jaded I became towards my peers following my surgery’s complications.

Yet I don’t mention in my book the tremendous pride I felt watching the news later in the day. Maybe my tweet earlier this evening sums up my pride’s source best.

9/11 11 Years Ago Today Tweet

On September 11, 2001 Americans put all differences aside and united as one.

To witness so many Americans put differences aside and unite as one proved incredible. The way America responded to 9/11  I can say with sincere conviction on that September day in 2001 the United States was “one nation under God, indivisible with liberty and justice for all.”

Leave a Reply

