One Year of Blogging, Reflection

One year ago today I launched this blog, aiming to build anticipation towards my then forthcoming book Off Balanced. Now I entered this endeavor knowing I wanted to do more than just talk Off Balanced and myself. After all, I think we all at some point come across a self-centered and egotistical cyber user who posts about nothing but him. That’s not who I desire to be. Instead my goal focuses around the blog’s tagline.

“Putting the ‘cerebral’ in cerebral palsy”

In other words, I wish to stimulate discussions on cerebral palsy and disabilities in general. Using reader feedback as a barometer, mission so far accomplished. For instance, take the Off Balanced post from April 3rd “Sixth Grade Choir Photograph, Evidence of Discrimination?” Some users commented enraged at me for “excusing” what happened to Alex. Others thanked me, appreciating my refusal to rush judgment. Me, I enjoyed seeing a passionate conversation occur.

Another highlight involves blogging via WordPress. I never really used WordPress before so the platform’s different tools intrigued me. I especially like how WordPress can track traffic based off search engine inquiries. One post which seems to acquire continuous visitors thanks to search engine inquires, “Breaking Down Barriers with the Mentally Challenged.” Searches revolving around how to treat mentally handicap individuals lead to these views. Hopefully readers find my insights shared helpful.

Glancing ahead I look forward to continuing this blog and continuing “putting the ‘cerebral’ in cerebral palsy.” Of course besides starting engaging dialogue regarding cerebral palsy (which Off Balanced the book also aims to do), I will keep using this blog to inform readers on my book’s latest happenings.

Off Balanced offers a different perspective to life with cerebral palsy, a social one.

One comment on “One Year of Blogging, Reflection

  1. […] One Year of Blogging, Reflection Nov12 […]

Leave a Reply

