Book News: Continuing to Share My Story

Off Balanced came out close to 13 months ago, thus marking close to 13 months dedicated to sharing my story and increasing disability awareness. Specifically I’m motivated to increase the human element involved in perceiving disabilities. After all, many times a person’s focus targets the disability’s medical side rather than addressing the person with the disability. The following highlights the publicity I garnered over the past few months. Enjoy!

WHEELIE cATHOLIC
In November the blog WHEELIE cATHOLIC picked up on my previously released Off Balanced cyber reading, including the Youtube video within the post “Teen Memoir: Off Balanced.” Personal experience inspires WHEELIE cATHOLIC blogger Ruth Harrigan to blog about disabilities. Her blog’s tagline, “Encouraging Prayerful Efforts Toward Social Justice and the Inclusion of People with Disabilities.” If this sounds interesting to you, visit the blog at www.wheeliecatholic.blogspot.com.

We Connect Now
As my teenage memoir Off Balanced documents, college proved an instrumental time for my personal growth. Therefore I eagerly welcomed the chance to express my own insights to current and future college students with disabilities via We Connect Now. To use the blog’s own words, “We Connect is dedicated to uniting college students with disabilities in access to higher education and employment issues.” You can find my insights on the “Stories” page. Many thanks goes out to Chris Miller at The Mobility Resource for arranging this opportunity.

MyChild at Cerebralpalsy.org
MyChild calls themselves “the ULTIMATE resource for EVERYTHING Cerebral Palsy.” The website found my story valuable and decided to interview me. I’m truly honored they incorporated their write up on me on the “MyChild Inspiration” page, placing me amongst other creative and ambitious individuals such as standup comedy star Josh Blue and bodybuilder Jack Runser.

Through My Eyes
Wrapping up today’s recap, my newest guest blog post for Through My Eyes. You might recall my previous guest posts there, “How Cerebral Palsy Helped Shape My Work Ethic” and “Online Dating and Cerebral Palsy.” Most recently I piggyback on a topic blogger Laura Forde explored, disability triggered social anxiety. Take a couple minutes and read my thoughts on the topic, “Eliminating Disability Related Social Anxiety.”

 

2 comments on “Book News: Continuing to Share My Story

  1. nick jacks says:

    Just found your site in a rare moment of time to play on the computer. As the father of a 11-year old with CP, your book sounds great and I look forward to reading it. I can’t imagine you haven’t already found it, but if you haven’t, may I recommend Cerebral Palsy Family Network. Perhaps there’s a part of it where you could make people aware of your book. Anyway, thanks for your time.

    • Nick, thanks for sharing. Please enjoy my book! I really feel like it can give parents an interesting perspective. If you ever want my opinion on something, please contact me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

