Film Review: Certain Proof A Question of Worth

Thought provoking, revealing, and emotional all accurately describe Footpath Pictures Inc.’s documentary Certain Proof: A Question of Worth. The film explores Kay (12 years old), Colin (nine years old), and Josh’s (five years old) lives in the American education system as students with severe cerebral palsy. All three children move around in wheelchairs and face incredible communication challenges, causing some ill-conceived assumptions regarding intelligence level.

Josh receiving speech therapy.

Teachers at Josh’s school hold doubts about his cognitive ability.

Now I’m honestly struggling to pick specific details to begin addressing because Certain Proof: A Question of Worth offers so much to discuss. Kay, Colin, and Josh’s age differences works well to capture a comprehensive look at educating students with cerebral palsy. Comparing Colin and Josh’s experiences illustrates exactly why society needs to avoid assumptions. An unaware person may carry the same expectations for Colin and Josh due to both being young boys in wheelchairs with next to no verbal communication skills. Yet Certain Proof: A Question of Worth displays a sizable contrast within their abilities.

Meanwhile Kay can speak but only in a slow, drawn out manner. Don’t mistake her speech though as a sign of lower intelligence. Selected classmates interviewed for the film admitted making such a mistake until the teacher posted the students”with straight A’s and they saw Kay’s name listed. Personally I connected to this since I carried straight A’s through high school freshman year. I believe in my book Off Balanced I partly credit my academic success to my social isolation, an isolation Kay also appeared to encounter.

The fact somebody with mild cerebral palsy like me can relate to the much more intensive cerebral palsy cases featured demonstrates two points. First, filmmakers Ray and Susan Ellis deserve props for their film making talents. Secondly, Kay, Colin, and Josh possess powerful personal stories which could touch many lives. Ultimately I consider Certain Proof: A Question of Worth a must watch for students with cerebral palsy, their family members, teachers, and classmates. If your television package includes STARZ, I encourage you to find the next television air times here. Or, order the DVD online at www.certainproof.com.

*Disclaimer- I received Certain Proof: A Question of Worth at no cost after interviewing filmmaker Ray Ellis for The Mobility Resource. Read that interview.     

4 comments on “Film Review: Certain Proof A Question of Worth

  1. Spashionista says:

    It’s wonderful that a documentary like this has been picked up by a major cable channel. Would you mind if I shared this post on my blog?
    I would ultimately like to see a film that covers a wide range of severity and types of Cerebral Palsy. Like you, I have a fairly mild case of CP, mine is more dystonic than spastic, and I’ve had more than one person tell me I can’t have CP because I don’t have X or Y symptom! Nevertheless, I’m happy to see the emphasis on normal, if not superior, intellect in CP students highlighted.

    Spashionista (Alicia)

  2. Roger Marsden says:

    I do not have CP but I am disabled I have many FRIENDS with CP in ALL forms, I just like them for their UNIQUE differences and needs like me I loved that film I wish there was more.

    Roger-NZ

Leave a Reply

