Relieving Cerebral Palsy Related Pain and Discomfort

To start today’s post, I want to give a shout out to fellow author John W. Quinn (Someone Like Me: An Unlikely Story of Challenge and Triumph Over Cerebral Palsy) for discussing cerebral palsy and pain management in his most recent vlog post. Watch below!

Now the reason I’m recognizing John deals with the fact since Saturday, April 13th this post titled “Relieving Cerebral Palsy Related Pain and Discomfort” remained dormant in my blog’s “Drafts” folder. Watching John’s video blog lifted the writer’s block keeping the post under draft status. So to the subject at hand pain/discomfort management and cerebral palsy.

Personally I find pain management falls into two categories, preventive measures and relief. Preventive measures involve battling the pain or discomfort prior to the aches attacking your body. In my opinion frequent stretching and exercising works best at prevention. Exercises I fit into my regular routine include hamstring stretches, ankle stretches, and riding my stationary bike.

I note in Off Balanced I started taking baclofen at 16 years old.

Baclofen pills

Additionally I’m on a prescription drug called baclofen, which I guess falls under preventive action. I mean I’m not in pain before taking the pill (three times a day). Baclofen acts as a muscle relaxer, keeping my muscles from tightening and cramping.

Moving forward to pain relief, I often rely on a product named ICYHOT. Whether my shoulder, thigh, or back flares up I can turn to ICYHOT for quick relief. Seriously, I’m so incredibly thankful for the product.

On occasion though, the problem may persist. In these situations I reach for any standard over-the-counter pain medication, preferably Advil. The few times my entire body aches, a hot shower works nicely too.

Your turn! What about you? How do you handle your cerebral palsy related pain and discomfort? Leave your insights with a comment below!

3 comments on “Relieving Cerebral Palsy Related Pain and Discomfort

  1. Spashionista says:

    I take Baclofen as well, along with Gabapentin and Amitryptilene at night. Like you, I find exercise is the best way to stay in optimal shape and prevent the pain that comes with not moving. Even if you can only do a little, the older you get the more it hurts to do nothing.

    Spashionista (Alicia)

  2. Callie says:

    I am a 21 year old woman who has Cerebral Palsy and am Baclofen user as well, Although my Baclofen is administered through a pump that is implanted in my stomach. My parents made the decision to have my first pump put in when i was four and honestly that was the best decision they could have ever made. Prior to having the baclofen pump implanted I was extremely stiff, was unable to move or even be potty trained. After recieving the pump my life has dramatically changed. I am able to be more active and independent. My muscles are more relaxed and aren’t as stiff which makes going about my everyday life much more easier. I also agree that exercise is important.I try to move around as much as I can in order to retain functioning of my extremities. As I continue to get older I know that I have to do what I can to take care of my body so that I continue to stay healthy an mobile!

  3. […] 5 Ways to Cope with the Pain.” Now reread my previously published post from here “Relieving Cerebral Palsy Related Pain and Discomfort.” You get two widely different approaches to the same […]

Leave a Reply

