Tracking New Year Resolutions: September ’13 Recap

May I speak bluntly? September 2013 roughed me up, or at least I feel beaten. Details follow below in this month’s “Tracking New Year Resolutions” post.

Resolution #1- Utilize My Youtube Channel Via Vlogging
Specific Goal- Vlog Twice a Month
Accomplished? YES

Yes I succeeded in my first goal but entering September’s final week the outlook seemed bleak. I didn’t follow my usual schedule where I posted my first video the month’s second week. Deciding on a topic remained troublesome to the point I experienced difficulty sleeping. Finally in a much needed aha moment a subject came to me, “My Experiences with LinkedIn.”

Thankfully I already knew what to discuss in my second video. I just had to wait for the Cleveland Indians’ regular season to end.

Resolution #2- Post Here on a Weekly Basis
Specific Goal- Post every Friday
Accomplished? YES

Yeah, I know. My month doesn’t appear too bad, right? I accomplished my first two monthly goals. Though, this time around I achieved resolution two due to pre-planning. I wrote September 6th’s post September 1st. Next I scheduled the posting for Friday, September 6th, since I would be out of town then. The “TMR Interview Extras: Susan Goodman” post I wrote in advance too. Therefore, I could let Susan fact check my work without risking my blogging schedule crashing off course.

So reflecting back I realize the lazy feeling I encountered mid-month came from completing two weeks work in a few days. I acknowledge the craziness but breaking from routine plays with your mind, even when you break routine for the better.

Resolution #3- Keep to Due Dates
Specific Goal- Don’t Receive Any Inquiries About ETAs
Accomplished? NO

While I pretty much struggled all year to achieve resolution three to my own satisfaction, September witnessed new lows. To keep to due dates, I require a clear mind. Certain tasks assist me towards reaching said mindset.

First I need to stretch and exercise. Otherwise my muscles tighten too much. Thanks cerebral palsy. 😉 Tight muscles result in my brain focusing on how my body feels, leaving less mind space to concentrate on work. Thus you might imagine minimal stretching and almost no exercise in September created some issues for me.

Maintaining a journal noting my activities throughout each day allows me to effectively manage my time. I abandoned the habit on my early September work vacation to Chicago and I never did resume the habit upon my return.

Empowering myself to succeed at goal three will require I return to frequent stretching, regular exercise, and time management journaling.

What about you?
Is anyone else out there still pursuing his or her 2013 New Year Resolutions? Share an update on your quest by commenting below.

Leave a Reply

