Tracking New Year Resolutions- December ’13 Recap

With New Year Day passing Wednesday another cycle completes and a new one begins. Now I’m talking about the process where the change in calendar year renews optimism and hope. Resolutions often accompany these positive sentiments. Yet said resolutions always seem to become forgotten by the time March rolls around.

Not for you and me! Today’s post marks the end to my monthly 2013 New Year resolutions tracking. Next week I’ll embark on a yearly overview and in two weeks publicize my 2014 New Year resolutions so I can face the public accountability all over again. First though, let us revisit December 2013.

Resolution #1- Utilize My Youtube Channel Via Vlogging
Specific Goal- Vlog Twice a Month
Accomplished? YES

After three months where I accomplished resolution one in the month’s last week, I finally avoided the last minute pressure. Inspiration for topic ideas really helped me here. Seeing how last month marked two years since I released my cerebral palsy memoir Off Balanced to the Kindle and Nook, a reflection felt appropriate.

The live Twitter chats #CPChatNow John W. Quinn, Tim Wambach, and I started hosting in December led me to my second video’s subject matter, “Cerebral Palsy & Building Self-Esteem.”

Resolution #2- Post Here on a Weekly Basis
Specific Goal- Post every Friday
Accomplished? YES

If you subscribe to my blog (button located on the right hand side under my picture), you know I surpassed resolution two. Overall I published six new posts in December. Exciting happenings motivated me, namely the emerging #CPChatNow, serving as a panelist on Parent to Parent of Georgia’s webinar “Finding Your Way: Transitioning from High School to College,” and conducting the first Off Balanced book giveaway.

Dakota

My most loyal companion for 13-and-a-half years, Dakota

Resolution #3- Keep to Due Dates
Specific Goal- Don’t Receive Any Inquiries About ETAs
Accomplished? NO

Despite the aforementioned success, December also proved a difficult month. On December 4th we put my dog Dakota to sleep. Like I share in my Handicap This December team post “My Dog Helped Me Embrace My Disability,” Dakota meant a lot to me. Her loss affected my productivity for about a week. Factor in the holidays too and I ended up missing two deadlines. The first for an article I’m writing for The Mobility Resource and secondly a guest blog opportunity for Joe Reddington. I’m determined to soon make up for my December failures.

Leave a Reply

